RSS

DAY 4 SOUL FAST – PREPARING

12 Jun

prepare

I’ve been told that “you’re right where you are suppose to be.” I wonder if that in fact is true or if it was something that was conveniently said so that I wouldn’t feel badly about the place where I was at the time? After today’s reading, I have to seriously consider that I’m not where I’m suppose to be, because I haven’t taken enough personal responsibility for thoroughly preparing myself for what I’m certain that God has called me to do. So now I must ask myself what responsibility does the Church have in preparing me?

11And He gave some as apostles, and some as prophets, and some as evangelists, and some as pastors and teachers, 12for the equipping of the saints for the work of service, to the building up of the body of Christ; 13until we all attain to the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a mature man, to the measure of the stature which belongs to the fullness of Christ.… Ephesians 4:11-13

Even still, I’m not real sure what “the equipping of the saints for the work of service” is suppose to actually look like given the fact that there are so many denominations. In my experience,  it’s meant “the equipping of the saints” based on whatever “God” given vision for ministry a particular Church has. So where has that left me as I’ve sat on the pew all these many years? It’s meant that I’ve gotten bits and pieces from every church attended. It’s meant that I’ve not been comprehensively educated on what I deem to be fundamental elements of what I need to live a successful Christian life. Stuff like: who I am in Christ, how to live Godly, how to pray for myself and intercede for others, how to engage in Spiritual Warfare, how to share my faith with others,etc. In other words, I’ve not been taught in a meaningful way how to live an abundant, victorious Christian life. Everything that I’ve learned I did so as a way of dealing with something that I was going through. The other piece is if I’m not firmly rooted and grounded in the Word of God as I should be, how can I then train up my children properly in the way they should go? The foundation that I lay for them now will significantly impact their future as well.

Preparing to go forward in the things of God for me also means being committed to a process of reeducating myself. Being willing to go back and fill in the gaps. Going forward for me means living each day focused on God’s plan for my life and intentionally participating in it.  No more excuses, detours or delays!

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 12, 2014 in 40 DAY SOUL FAST

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
